[IFComp 2012] Last Minute

Ruderbager Doppelganger’s Last Minute‘s description reads as follows:

A desperate attempt at a story about a desperate attempt to enter into the 2012 IFCOMP at the last minute.

Ha, amusing. But can I say it? I’m worried.

So, the whole concept is that I’m in my bedroom, and I have to look through my items for inspiration for my IF game.

After choosing from a variety of options, a story is generated that I can sort-of play through.

This game is cute, but. And I feel like that’s all I really have to say about it. I don’t know if it stems from the fact that it feels a little bit like Choose-Your-Own-Adventure meets Mad Libs? Or if it’s just my dislike for Twine and clicking. There are some amusing moments in it, like:

Peter Paper didn’t wonder about any of these questions. He was too stricken with guilt. Guilt that he tried to drown with alcohol, but tragically it would seem his guilt could swim.

But there really isn’t a whole lot to it. And I really want to quote Pissy Little Sausages on the basis of judging these games:

“What I need here is any kind of basis for objectively judging CYOA against traditional IF.  Because here, right, is the issue I’m having:  CYOA is at its core a much sleeker beast than IF, and much easier to tame.  Problems with underimplementation, guess-the-verb, insufficient clueing, unexpected object interactions — your basic CYOA just skips these like it’s got a doctor’s note to get out of gym class.  All of the work you put into a CYOA game shows on the surface, whereas your average IF game needs a bunch of work just to stop looking like garbage. “

I don’t know what the answer to this is. But I think I automatically take off points for the game being a CYOA, which is, truly, a jerk move, but what can I do about it? I don’t like them in the IFComp.

4/10

Leave a Reply

